Have you noticed that people have limited your access to their content on Instagram? Are your comments on their posts not getting as many responses as they used to? It could be a sign that someone has blocked you on Instagram.
Banning on Instagram is more difficult to understand than banning, because it doesn’t actually take away your access to someone’s story. In this article, we will tell you about the signs that you can use to determine Instagram restrictions, and how you can use the blocking feature to limit people’s access to own content.
What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram?
The Instagram Restrict feature is one of the privacy features that allows users to limit someone’s access to their account. In order to know if someone blocked you on Instagram, you need to understand what this feature does.
Most of the time, you won’t notice when someone blocks you on Instagram. It’s even trickier when someone is blocking you. In fact, when you are banned, you can still open the user’s Instagram profile and see their content, including posts, comments, videos, and user comments. You can like their posts and send them direct messages.
However, there are some things you can’t do or see when it comes to Instagram posts, messages, and activity status.
Forbidden and Prohibited
Banning on Instagram is different from banning, because you take away your access to the user’s profile almost entirely. For example, as a blocked user, when you open the Instagram account of the person who blocked you, you will only see the information at the top of your profile: your profile picture, the number of followers and following , the number of posts, and their biography.
Unlike a blocked user, a restricted account holder can see all posts, comments, and other content on the page. They can post new information on the bulletins, see the latest and previous information in the comments section from other subscribers.
As a blocked user, you can also send Instagram DMs (direct messages) to the person who blocked you. However, your message will appear as a message request that people can access Block, Deleteor Agree. You will not be able to see what they are doing and whether your message has been received or not. As a blocked user, you cannot send messages to the person who blocked you.
Unlike blocking, it doesn’t affect your ability to identify and mention the person who blocked you. You’ll receive notifications when you mention or bookmark them, just like before.
How to tell if someone blocked you on Instagram
As you can see, blocking on Instagram is difficult to solve. So how do you know if someone has blocked you on Instagram? There are only three ways to find out.
1. See the Comments Section
Instagram introduced the prevention feature to reduce cyberbullying. The primary function of this feature is to block unwanted information from a user. In the end, nothing seems to have changed. You can still leave comments on posts as before. You can also view your information, but it may be hidden from others.
The user who blocked you will see your new message behind him limited information message. They can choose to accept your message or hide it from others. If they accept your message, it will be public, and if they reject it, only you and the user who blocked you will see the message.
So how do you know if someone blocked a conversation? Go to this user’s account on Instagram and leave a new comment on their post. Since the information will appear on your first account as usual, you must log in to Instagram using your second account. If you don’t have a second account on Instagram, you can create a new account, ask to use a friend’s account, or ask to use a family Instagram account.
Right after you post from your main account, see if you can view it from a different Instagram account. You have to do it immediately, before the user who blocked you accepts it. If you do not see your new message appear immediately, then your account may be blocked.
2. Try sending a DM
You can also find out if you are restricted or not using Instagram DMs. When someone blocks you, your new direct messages to them will appear in the message request folder instead of the regular chat. The person who blocked you will not be notified of any new messages, you must manually allow them to reply to you. On the other hand, you will not be notified if the user reads your direct message.
To find out if you’ve been banned, try sending a DM to the person you suspect has banned you on Instagram. After sending the DM, you have to wait. If you see a user active on their account but not responding to your message for a long time, then it may be a sign that your suspicion is correct and they have blocked you.
3. Check Their Work Status
You will be limited and your ability to see the person’s work status will be denied. This means you won’t see the last time they were online or the last time they checked their messages.
You can try to check the status of the work of the person you suspect blocked you. Before you do, make sure you have the option to show activity status enabled on Instagram. To do that, open the Instagram app, go to your profile page, open the menu, and follow the steps Identification > Privacy > Job Status. Change it It’s up there to enable the situation.
When the Activity section is on, you can see when the following people and messages are active on Instagram. Now, go back to the person’s profile and see if you can see their last seen status (and their Active status if they are currently online). If you don’t see this information, even if they posted it on Instagram, they probably blocked you.
However, they can also show Activity Status disabled, so you’ll need to use other methods to check if you’ve been banned.
How to block someone on Instagram
Whether you find out that someone blocked you or not, one day you will want to use this feature on someone else. If you want to block someone on Instagram, you can do it through chat, messages, and settings. The instructions are the same for iOS and Android users.
How to stop someone from talking
You can block someone in the comments section. To do that, follow the steps below.
- Open your Instagram feed and select it See all details.
- Select the message of the person you want to block, and swipe left on (iPhone) or hold (Android).
- Select the signposting in the upper-right corner.
- Select it Limit Username to bind a person.
How to Block Someone in Messages
Another way to block a user on Instagram is through messages. To do that, follow the steps below.
- Open Instagram and go to your chats.
- Open a conversation with the person you want to block.
- Select their name at the top of the conversation.
- Scroll down and select Limit it.
How to Block Someone in Settings
You can use the Settings menu to block someone on Instagram. Here’s how you can do it.
- Open Instagram and go to your profile page.
- Select the three horizontal lines in the upper-right corner to open it Menu.
- Follow the path Identification > Privacy > Connection > Restricted accounts > Keep going.
- Use the Search site to find the account you want to block and select it Limit it next to their username.
How to block someone on their profile
If you are watching someone’s story and want to block their account, you can do it directly on their Instagram page by following the steps below.
- Open Instagram and find the person you want to block.
- Go to this person’s profile page.
- Select the three horizontal lines (iPhone) or three vertical lines icon (Android) to open Menu.
- Select it Limit it to limit their account.
How to fix someone blocking you on Instagram
It is very difficult to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. Also, there’s not much you can do to get back into talking with someone once they’ve blocked you. Your best bet is to reach out to them and try to find a way to solve the problem together.